top of page



It is the sign of Sagittarius that drives us to progress and succeed in life, whether our struggle is for material or spiritual gain. As human beings we set goals, we achieve them, and then we set new goals. We evolve by seeking more light and by expanding beyond our self-imposed boundaries. 

Sagittarius is represented by three different symbols that demonstrate the developing human consciousness. The symbols for Sagittarius are: 
First - the Centaur, 
Second - the Archer astride a White Horse, and 
Third - a simple Arrow. 

The Centaur is a creature from Greek mythology - the head, arms and torso of a man attached to the body, four legs, and tail of a horse. This half horse/half man represents primitive man's ascent from his animal nature to human consciousness. The symbol of the Centaur suggests a continuing strong identification with our baser and less evolved nature.


The Archer astride the White Horse presents us with an image of a more evolved person; one who is not tied to the form nature. He is able to move freely between the experience of spiritual life and the life of appearance or form. The White Horse represents the Soul. The Archer is able to dismount the great White Steed and re-connect with the Earth plane for the sake of serving humanity. From the elevated position astride the White Horse, human beings function with an integrated personality and Soul. As the Archer, our consciousness is not limited by the mental, emotional and physical functioning of the personality alone. We have access to a much deeper knowledge and the wisdom of the Soul through use of our intuition. We aspire to greater and greater achievements.


The Archer, with a quiver full of arrows, spies a goal, draws his bow, launches his arrow, and follows it directly to the goal. He sees the next goal and continues his quest, repeating the process until he reaches his final goal -which is the Path of Initiation at the foot of the mountain in Capricorn. The third symbol, the arrow, carries the aspiration of the Archer into a new field of experience. It carries with it our spiritual intention from one level of consciousness to the next higher level, each time attaining a more inclusive experience and deeper understanding of our purpose for this lifetime. 

Sagittarius is known for its one-pointed, honest seeking after that which is meaningful and significant. Significance from the spiritual perspective requires sincerity and focus. In the following quote from Alice A. Bailey's "Esoteric Astrology;' we see how in Sagittarius, the human intellect evolves into a higher mental capacity leading to the opening of the intuitive faculty. 

"In Sagittarius, the intellect which has been developed, used and finally illumined, becomes sensitive to a still higher type of mental experience and to this we give the name of intuitive perception. There come flashes of light upon problems; a distant yet possible vision of attainment is seen; the man begins to climb out of the depths to which he has descended in Scorpio and sees ahead of him the mountain in Capricorn which he knows he must eventually climb. He walks no longer in the dark, for he sees what he has to do and he therefore makes rapid progress 'fast upon the Way.' He 'flies from point to point, searching for arrows which he has discharged: He has, figuratively speaking, to dismount constantly from his white horse (the developed and purified personality) and find where the arrows of intuitional aspiration will take him; he travels on the 'wings of soul'..."

This paragraph sums up for us the Sagittarius experience; one-pointed seeking after that which is meaningful and significant to spiritual progress. The experience begins with an inner restlessness that we all experience from time to time. We have these momentary glimpses of a deeper meaning or purpose. For an instant, we see through the veil of illusion and view the existential truth - exactly as it is.


Sagittarius leads us on a direct path from idealism to aspiration to spiritual search to a developed inner vision and a profoundly sensitive intuitive function which leads us eventually and most assuredly to the feet of the Master.


The Keyword for Sagittarius is: "I see the goal. I reach that goal and then I see another."


Astrological Readings by Ron Thurlow, Ph.D., Esoteric Astrologer 
Astrological Sign Paintings by Sandy Thurlow 

Upcoming Full Moon Meditations

  • Sep 28, 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM
    Meditation Mount, 10340 Reeves Rd, Ojai, CA 93023, USA
    We welcome your participation in the Full Moon Meditation, it is a wonderful opportunity to gather as a world-wide group and receive, register and radiate the special energies available.
  • Oct 27, 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM
    Meditation Mount, 10340 Reeves Rd, Ojai, CA 93023, USA
    We welcome your participation in the Full Moon Meditation, it is a wonderful opportunity to gather as a world-wide group and receive, register and radiate the special energies available.
  • Nov 26, 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM
    Meditation Mount, 10340 Reeves Rd, Ojai, CA 93023, USA
    We welcome your participation in the Full Moon Meditation, it is a wonderful opportunity to gather as a world-wide group and receive, register and radiate the special energies available.


Aries is the initiator of every cycle of manifestation. The Aries personality may be reckless and impulsive. When aligned with soul intent, Aries moves the creative impulse to toward a new goal. 



Taurus provides us with the desire and drive to push ahead against all obstacles. When that desire is transformed into aspiration the goal becomes illumination. 



Gemini brings to our awareness the duality of all manifested life. We come to know ourselves as dual beings - mental and emotional, higher mind and lower mind, and finally soul and personality.



In Cancer our awareness is centered on the form side of life. It is the Mother aspect, the womb of time and the identification of self with mass consciousness. The Cancer form receives and holds Father-spirit.



Leo marks the birth of self-consciousness. Leo identity resides first with the self-centered ego and then later becomes self-consciousness centered in the soul. 



Virgo is the sign of the virgin mother. She holds the hidden Christ in her womb. The Virgo personality can be critical, but as she evolves she assumes responsibility for nurturing the divine life within.



Libra is the balance point in the zodiac. It is the decision point that we face each moment when we choose to think and act selfishly or to direct our path toward selfless, spiritual service.



Scorpio is the sign of the triumphant disciple. As a personality, Scorpio can deliver a harmful scorpion sting. However, once on the spiritual path, trials and struggles no longer slow the disciple's progress.



Capricorn is the sign of the initiate. It is the symbol of the goat climbing up the mountain. As a personality, Capricorn can be willful and selfishly driven, but when motivated by spiritual will the mountain top becomes attainable.



Aquarius is the sign of the world server. The goal of Aquarius is group consciousness. The Aquarius personality may be focused on narrow instinctual pursuits. When the soul is in control, Aquarius moves us to join with others to improve the lives of all beings.



Pisces is the sign of the world savior. As Aries is the beginning of everything, Pisces is the end of all cycles. The Pisces personality tends to be fluid and emotional. With evolution Pisces brings clear vision, insight and a fine intuitive sensitivity.


Signup for our mailing list to stay up to date with our progress!

Meditation Mount Donate and mission.jpeg

Our mission is to promote the building of an enlightened and compassionate world through the power of creative meditation, inspirational educational programs, and community-based events. Learn more.

bottom of page